Owl Pillow Graph

I am in love with the “corner to corner” crochet technique. Not only is it one of those methods where you can mindlessly work it, but it also opens your projects up to a whole new world.

By this I mean GRAPHS! Just about any 8-bit or pixel images can be used with C2C (Corner to Corner). You can even use cross stitch patterns and perler bead graphs. There are several sites that allow to you to make your own graphs for free. Then you just save the image and write out the pattern, which I will explain how I do it in just a moment.

Here are the sites that I use, although there are others out there that you could use as well:

Kandi Patterns has a very simple graph maker and many existing graphs to browse through. This site is mostly for perler beads so some of the graphs will have rectangles rather than squares. This means that if you refer to a graph with rectangles and use the C2C method, your project image would come out slightly different than the graph.

My Photo Stitch is a cross stitch pattern maker, but if you have an idea of what you are doing and you try to stay under 10 colors, you will be just fine. This site actually has you load an image rather than create a picture from scratch. They take the image, along with some information on size and how many stitches you want, and create the pattern.

Pixel Art Maker is another simple one, the main difference with this one is the size. This one is larger than the Kandi Pattern Maker; which is only 50X50.

Make Pixel Art is once again, a simple one. I am adding this to the list simply because it will do the trick, but it doesn’t quite tickle my fancy so I don’t really use it.

Now onto reading the graphs and making the patterns.

Owl Pillow2 copy

I used (and most always use) Kandi Patterns. As you can see, when you save the image from this site, it provides the colors that you used in thumbnails at the bottom. Convenient!

I wont go into detail about how to make this stitch. I think that this video by Mikey from the Crochet Crowd is wonderfully explained and he covers EVERYTHING that you need to know about this crochet stitch. If you haven’t watched anything from Mikey before, go. Go now. He’s silly and you’ll enjoy his commentary along with the generous free pattern tutorials.

When writing out the pattern for the graphs (which I highly recommend doing so as to not lose your place) you will count diagonally in the same way that you will be crocheting it. I always start on the bottom right corner of the graph. Your even numbered rows will always be the “columns (vertical)” and the odd numbered rows will always be the “rows (horizontal)”.

This is something that I personally do, if this is not how you do it, that is perfectly fine! You can follow your graphs ANY way that you please!

I typically print my graphs out and write the row numbers along the sides of the image. This is a good way to keep your place. If you don’t plan on using the printed graph again, you could cross off rows as you go, but I like to reuse mine so I make sure to neatly number the rows.

I also like to create a legend so that I do not have to write out the color names every row. So for tan I write “T”, purple; “P”, orange; “O”, white; “W”, etc. Obviously if you have colors such as pink and purple, use another letter to help differentiate them in your pattern.

I will give you an example using the purple owl that my daughter created; starting with rows 1 through 13 which are all white, I would write:

Row 1-13. White

Row 14. 4W 1O 9W

Row 15. 15W

Row 16. 4W 2O 10W

This was this year’s Mother’s Day gift to my mother from myself and my daughter. We both made a purple owl and I made a two sided pillow. These little owls now live in my mother’s office! They will have plenty of sun and foliage!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you have ANY questions, please feel free to ask away!!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

~CJ

 

One thought on “Owl Pillow Graph

Leave a Reply

